BioData

My name is Toh Shi Hui, currently a Year 2 Chemistry undergraduate at the National University of Singapore (NUS) I will be graduating with a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in July 2011. My strong interest in the field of Chemistry inspired me to pursue a post graduate degree in Organic Chemistry. This career path chosen is driven by my strong interest in the field of science and research work.

 

As an undergraduate, I value versatility and leadership experiences that can be gathered outside academic wise. I pursue the goal of developing myself as an all-rounder by volunteering my service to our citizens of Singapore. I joined the People’s Association Youth Movement (PAYM) in the NeeSoon East Community Centre and performed my duty as the Chairman of Publicity subgroup, which gave me the opportunity to not only work with people of different background but also immerse myself in different cultures of our society. This experience allowed me to enhance my interpersonal communication skills, and also further refine my leadership and public speaking skills.

 

My life in NUS have also been enriching and fulfilling. I ‘m currently a live DeeJay in NUS campus radio, “RadioPulze”, and this was due to my huge interest in the Entertainment scene. I have been given countless opportunities to attend press conferences of International stars at formal events to conduct interviews, and throughout these experiences some of the soft skills such as responsibility and critical thinking are something which I’m grateful to have acquired.

 

I also believe in giving back to the society through community work and services. In NUS, I participated in overseas community work such planning and experiencing a 22 days community service trip to Cambodia. The opportunities to work with people of vast diversity and interaction with people of different culture globally are valuable skills acquired which has certainly equipped me the relevant organizational and leadership skills to handle the challenges in the competitive society today.

 

My work experiences during my previous semester breaks as a marketing assistance for TIME Publishing Company has certainly prepared me for the challenging work field.  I had the privilege to experience the problems faced in business and management and this has imbibed in me analytical skills applicable to solving real-life problems.

 

Being a highly motivated, driven and an organized person, I take pride in all my work and give in all my best efforts possible to accomplish the tasks. Success is something everyone aims to achieve in life, but I truly believe it would not be complete unless we have play our part in giving back to the society and reaching out to as much of the less fortunate ones out there as possible.

 

 

 

 

